

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com



www.elsevier.com/locate/foodqual

Food Quality

and Preference

Food Quality and Preference 18 (2007) 929

Announcement of 2007-2008

Rose Marie Pangborn Sensory Science Scholarship

One \$14,000 Sensory Science Scholarship will be awarded for the 2007–2008 academic year to support a Ph.D. student who intends to teach and conduct research in the area of sensory science at the University level. This scholarship is awarded in honor of the memory of Professor Rose Marie Pangborn, who initiated the scholarship fund to encourage the education of Sensory Scientists intending to pursue academic careers. This year, the award is generously being supported by GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare.

Applicants for the scholarship must be enrolled in a Ph.D. Program such as Food Science, Nutrition, Psychology or Physiology. The planned or on-going dissertation research must be on a sensory topic under the guidance of a recognized sensory scientist. Candidates will be evaluated on the basis of their academic record, intended research in human sensory science commitment to a career in teaching in the field of sensory science, and support determined by

letters of recommendation. The Board of Directors of the Sensory Science Scholarship Fund (SSSF) will determine policies governing the award and will select recipients.

Applications, including all required documentation must be postmarked no later than July 1, 2007. For additional information and application forms contact Dr. Rick Mattes, Purdue University, Department of Foods and Nutrition, 700 W. State Street, W. Lafayette, IN 47907-2059, USA. Phone: +1 765 494 0662; fax: +1 765 494 0674. E-mail: mattes@purdue.edu. Application forms are also downloadable at: http://www.cfs.purdue.edu/sssf/.

Past recipients include: Martha Bajec, John Hayes, Derek Snyder, Cheryl Armstrong, Zuzana Drobna, Dr. Terri Rosett, Dr. Nicolette van der Klaauw, Dr. Sophie Bonnans, Dr. Jeanine Delwiche, Dr. Liz Gwartney, Dr. Thomas Heinbockel, Andrew Smith, Barbara Guggenbühl, Elba Cubero-Castillo, Randy Lee, and Lotika Bhatia Sayant.